Internal accreditation

As a system accredited institute for higher education, JGU offers its own accreditation and re-accreditation procedures for all of its subject areas. The associated procedures can be found in the "Handbook of Quality Assurance and Quality Development for setting up and continuing degree courses" (see download). These procedures are equivalent to the accreditations of the authorized accreditation agencies in Germany. 

The positive system accreditation certifies that JGU's quality assurance system in the area of study and teaching is appropriate for achieving the qualification targets and guaranteeing the quality standards of its own degree courses. Being awarded the seal of accreditation does not just mean that all of the degree courses already set up in Mainz are now accredited; it also means that during the initial accreditation period of six years, the university is also able to set up and continue degree courses in this tested manner in the future. 

JGU is the first higher education institute in Germany to receive the official seal for its quality assurance system. At present, there are very few other higher education institutes on the way to receiving a similarly comprehensive accreditation.

The official procedure was preceded by a two-year pilot project from 2006 to 2008 which was also referred to as "system accreditation". Upon completion of the two-year pilot project, volume 15 of "Contributions made by Mainz to the development of higher education institutes" was released. This sketches the construction of the pilot project, provides insights into the experience gained, and shows perspectives for developing the process of system accreditation in higher education institutes. The volume can be downloaded free of charge from this page (see download) or ordered at a cost of 8 Euros (send an email to ).

Interne Akkreditierung

Die JGU bietet als systemakkreditierte Hochschule eigene Akkreditierungs- und Reakkreditierungsverfahren für sämtliche ihrer Fächer an. Die entsprechenden Verfahrensschritte sind dem "Handbuch Qualitätssicherung und Qualitätsentwicklung zur Einrichtung und Weiterführung von Studiengängen" zu entnehmen (siehe Download). Diese Verfahren sind äquivalent zu Akkreditierungen der in Deutschland zugelassenen Akkreditierungsagenturen.

Die positive Systemakkreditierung bescheinigt der JGU, dass ihr Qualitätssicherungssystem im Bereich von Studium und Lehre geeignet ist, das Erreichen der Qualifikationsziele und die Qualitätsstandards ihrer Studiengänge zu gewährleisten. Mit dem Akkreditierungssiegel geht nicht nur eine Akkreditierung sämtlicher bereits eingerichteter Mainzer Studiengänge einher, sondern die Hochschule ist in der Akkreditierungsperiode von zunächst sechs Jahren in die Lage versetzt, die Einrichtung und Weiterführung der Studiengänge auch künftig auf die erprobte Weise fortsetzen zu können.

Die JGU war bundesweit die erste Hochschule, die das offizielle Siegel für ihr funktionierendes Qualitätssicherungssystem erhalten hat. Mittlerweile befinden sich zahlreiche weitere Hochschulen auf dem Weg zur einer entsprechend umfassenden Akkreditierung. 

Dem offiziellen Verfahren vorausgegangen war zwischen 2006 und 2008 ein zweijähriges Modellprojekt unter dem gleichnamigen Titel "Systemakkreditierung". Anlässlich des Abschlusses des zweijährigen Modellprojektes ist Band 15 der "Mainzer Beiträge zur Hochschulentwicklung" erschienen. Dieser skizziert den Aufbau des Modellprojektes, gibt Einblicke in gewonnene Erfahrungen und zeigt Perspektiven für die Entwicklung der Systemakkreditierung an Hochschulen auf. Der Band kann kostenlos auf dieser Seite heruntergeladen (siehe Download) bzw. gegen eine Gebühr von 8 Euro (per Mail an ) bestellt werden.